Libras Lines Blog Archives

You are here


News

LIBRAS SIG Chair Meeting held at Dominican University

 

So, what does September mean to you? Classes resume, books are ordered, requests for instruction sessions start to flow in (endlessly!), new websites are implemented, the days get shorter, the leaves start to fall, and LIBRAS SIGs kick into planning mode for the 2010-2011 academic year!

One of the greatest values of LIBRAS is providing a forum for sharing information, getting to know librarians and staff from other libraries, and having a chance to discuss library issues that are common to us all. One of the forums LIBRAS provides is the Special Interest Group (SIG) meeting. Since it’s the beginning of the semester we thought we would kick off the SIG season by getting our SIG chairs together to discuss ways to strengthen our SIG networks. To that end LIBRAS held a meeting of the LIBRAS Special Interest Group Chairs on Friday, September 10, 2010 at Dominican University. Attending the meeting was Mark Kroll – Technical Services; David Malone – Archives; Katie Maier-O’Shea – Reference and Collection Development; Co-Chair Caroline Sietmann – Emerging Technologies, Jack Fritts – Past President; Ken Orenic – President; April Levy – Secretary; Amy Weidner – Communications Director; and Wade Stewart – volunteer website designer.

Below is a directory of the SIG Chairs for the 2010-2011 academic year:

Archives SIG

Chair, David Malone, Wheaton College

david.malone@wheaton.edu

Circulation/Interlibrary Loan SIG

Chair, Carol Warner, Judson University

cwarner@judsonu.edu

Emerging Technologies SIG

Co-Chair, Caroline Sietmann, Dominican University

csietmann@dom.edu

Co-Chair, Aimee Walker, North Central College

aawalker@noctrl.edu

Reference/Collection Development SIG

Chair, Katie Meier-O'Shea, North Park University

kmaier@northpark.edu

Instruction SIG

Molly Beestrum, Columbia College Chicago

mbeestrum@colum.edu

Technical Services SIG

Chair, Mark Kroll, Benedictine University

mkroll@ben.edu

SIG meeting

At the meeting we discussed SIG Chair responsibilities, improvements to the LISTSERVs, the website redesign (coming in January, 2011!) and a round table discussion on strategies for making the SIG events even better.

Want to know when the next SIG meeting for your area of interest will take place? Sign up for the SIG LISTSERV of interest to you. Use this link to view the lists available and directions for signing up.

SIG events are in the planning stages so keep your eyes open for an invitation!

Thanks, and have a great semester!

Ken Orenic